ICAS Book Prize 2013

At ICAS 8 in Macao, we celebrated the fifth edition of the ICAS Book Prize, a lustrum. In the past 10 years the ICAS Book Prize has grown from an experiment with 50 books and 5 dissertations submitted to an established prize with 250 publications of 60 publishers worldwide and 100 dissertations competing.

Therefore we have added a new category this year: The Reading Committee Accolades. This gave the Reading Committees the opportunity to single out more books and dissertations than just the winners because so many excellent publications were submitted.

The ICAS Book Prize is sponsored by The Kingdom of the Netherlands represented by the Consulate General in Hong Kong and Macao, ICAS’ mother institution and co-host the International Institute for Asian Studies, Amsterdam University Press and the University of Macau.

The members of the IBP 2013 Reading Committees are Birgit Abels, Alex McKay, Annu Jalais, Sebastan Bersick, Imran bin Tajudeen and Michiel Baas.