Unlearning Othering: Asian Australian and Asian American Women's Fiction

PhD defended at: 

University of Queensland


Emily Yu Zong



The thesis brings into dialogue contemporary Asian Australian and Asian American women's fiction (1994-2012). In interrogating hybrid identities, embodied female subjectivity, exoticist encounters, and the multicultural community in these works, I situate these writers within a counter-hegemonic, reflexive frame of "unlearning Othering." Their works imaginatively restore the complexity of a categorised diasporic subjectivity, broaden constituencies of the imagined nation, and reclaim pluralist frames of hybridity, multiculturalism, and cosmopolitanism. Writers examined here include the Asian Australian authors Simone Lazaroo, Merlinda Bobis, Chandani Lokugé, and Hsu-Ming Teo and the Asian American authors Jhumpa Lahiri, Julie Otsuka, Shirley Geok-lin Lim, and Gish Jen.

Current edition: IBP 2019

The ICAS Book Prize 2019 will be accepting online submissions between 15 March 2018 and 10 October 2018.

Publishers in our database will be sent a reminder when the online submission form opens on 15 March 2018. If you are unsure whether or not you are in our database, please send an email to ibp@iias.nl in order to add your details.

Please do not send us any books before registering the titles online. After registration you shall receive further instructions for sending the copies.

Read the Rules and Regulations

ICAS is an initiative of the
International Insitute for Asian Studies